Littlefield stuns #14 Childress

The Littlefield Wildcats won the area championship, defeating Childress, 55-53. Pictured with the area trophy are: (Back row, from left to right) Dakota Gage, Abrahm Lucero, Bryson Calaway, and Ty Smith. (Front row, from left to right) Dorito Jackson, Jeremy Williams, Jonah Kirby, Mark Reed, De’Vonte Mathis, Da’Madrick Moore, and Aaron Cabello.

The Littlefield Wildcats defeated Childress, the 14th ranked team in 2A, Friday night, to win the Area Championship. Dakota Gage scored the first points of the game to give Littlefield a 2-0 lead, but Childress quickly responded with a three-pointer. Mark Reed made a bucket and free throw, then Da’Madrick Moore made a jumper to give before Lucero scored to cut the deficit to two. Dorito Jackson and Mathis both scored, but Childress led 24-22, at halftime.
Rate this article: 
No votes yet